UAE bank app crypto trading vs an OTC desk: can it take your USDT?
In-app bank crypto in the UAE is a brokerage wrapper: you buy and sell inside the bank's own product through a VARA-licensed provider. As of October 2026, Liv and Standard Chartered state they do not support crypto transfers in or out, and RAKBANK's page does not say. For 100k+ of external USDT, a licensed desk remains the route.
KEY FACTS
| Banks with a published crypto product | RAKBANK, Liv (Emirates NBD), Standard Chartered UAE |
|---|---|
| What the product is | Buy, sell and hold inside the bank's product, executed by a VARA-licensed Broker-Dealer |
| Crypto transfers in or out | Liv and Standard Chartered: not supported. RAKBANK: not stated on the product page |
| USDT in the coin list | Not listed on any of the three pages |
| Desk route for external USDT | AED same business day (UAEFTS), USD 2-5 business days (SWIFT), from ~100,000 USDT |
Source: each bank's own product page and the VARA public register, accessed 23 October 2026; desk terms per the IWGT pricing table, as of October 2026.
Which UAE banks offer crypto trading in the app?
Three UAE banks publish a crypto trading product as of October 2026: RAKBANK, Liv (the digital bank of Emirates NBD) and Standard Chartered UAE. The table lists only what each bank and the VARA public register state; it does not cover banks that have not published a product. The older guide on why a bank branch will not buy your crypto covers the branch counter, not these products.
| Bank product | Partner and licence | Coins stated |
|---|---|---|
| RAKBANK Crypto Brokerage | Bitpanda. RAKBANK names Bitpanda Broker MENA DMCC. The VARA register lists Bitpanda Broker MENA FZCO, VL/25/03/001, Broker-Dealer, issued 19 March 2025, active, retail investors permitted. The entity name differs between the two pages. | "21 major cryptocurrencies", names not listed on the page |
| RAKBANK Islamic Virtual Assets | Same partner statement as above, for eligible RAKislamic customers. | Bitcoin only |
| Liv Crypto (Liv X app) | Aquanow ME FZE. VARA register: VL/24/01/001, Broker-Dealer, Management and Investment, Lending and Borrowing, issued 22 July 2024, active. | BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, XRP, AAVE, LINK, DOT, LTC, UNI, XLM |
| Standard Chartered UAE crypto trading | The bank itself. VARA register: VL/26/08/003, Broker-Dealer, issued 24 August 2026, active. Professional Investor clients only. | BTC and ETH, against USD or AED |
Each product names a licensed Broker-Dealer. None of the three coin lists includes USDT.
Can in-app bank crypto take USDT from an outside wallet?
Based on the pages published as of October 2026, no bank product reviewed here describes accepting USDT from an outside wallet. Liv and Standard Chartered each state in their own words that crypto transfers to or from the bank are not supported. RAKBANK's page says nothing either way, so the answer for RAKBANK sits in its linked documents.
| Bank product | External crypto deposit or withdrawal | Limits | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| RAKBANK Crypto Brokerage | Not stated on the product page. The page says "No external transfers needed" to trade from a RAKBANK account. | Not stated on the product page | Standard tier: buy 0.5%, sell 0.5%, swap 0.7%. Exclusive tier (Elite or salary transfer): buy 0.4%, sell 0.5%, swap 0.35%. Custody free. |
| RAKBANK Islamic Virtual Assets | Not stated. Bitcoin can be converted to AED and withdrawn to the customer's RAKislamic account. | Not stated on the product page | Standard tier: buy 0.5%, sell 0.5%. Exclusive tier: buy 0.4%, sell 0.5%. Custody free. |
| Liv Crypto | Not supported. Liv FAQ: "Liv does not support transfers of crypto holdings to or from Liv." | Minimum order USD 1. Transaction limit USD 100,000 after passing the appropriateness test, USD 0 if failed. | 0% trading fee, terms apply. Other charges not stated on the product page. |
| Standard Chartered UAE | Not supported. Product page: "SC does not support transfers of crypto holdings to or from SC." | Minimum order USD 50 or AED equivalent. No maximum stated. | No transaction or custody fees stated. The bank adds a markup to the liquidity provider's quote; its size is not stated. |
Two of the four rows state no external transfers; the RAKBANK rows are silent on the page, and USDT is not named in any of them.
RAKBANK links a Key Fact Statement, Terms and Conditions and a Service and Price Guide from its product page. Read the transfer and limit wording there before assuming anything about external funds.
What is in-app bank crypto actually good for?
In-app bank crypto suits buying and selling inside the bank, funded from your own AED account, without a separate exchange login. RAKBANK says you trade in dirhams from a current or savings account. Liv funds trades through a USD Investment Account that you top up from your AED account, and Standard Chartered requires an eligible USD or AED account.
That design answers a different question from yours. It lets you acquire coins and sell them back to the same account; it is not described as a route for outside USDT to reach a bank account. The comparison with exchange apps follows the same logic as in OTC desk vs broker app.
When do you still need an OTC desk?
An OTC desk is the right route when the USDT already sits in your own wallet and you want AED or USD in your bank account. The bank products above, on their published pages, start from the bank side: they sell you coins or buy them back inside the product. Four conditions point to a desk:
- The coins are USDT in an external wallet, and the bank page does not describe accepting them.
- The size is 100,000 USDT or more. The Liv transaction limit alone is USD 100,000 for a customer who passed the test, and the other pages state no maximum.
- You need AED the same business day. A desk settles by UAEFTS on banking days before the cut-off.
- You need USD. A desk pays by SWIFT in 2 to 5 business days, to an account in your own name.
Desk pricing is published: all-in spread 0.08% to 0.40% by ticket size, as of October 2026, in the pricing bands on the main page. For where a regulated exchange or app sits against a desk at this size, see licensed UAE exchanges vs an OTC desk.
Illustrative example
You hold 250,000 USDT in a self-custody wallet and want AED. Neither bank page reviewed here states that it accepts USDT from an outside wallet, so a bank app does not give you a documented path. At the 3.6725 peg and the 0.40% band for the 100,000 tier, 250,000 USDT converts to about AED 914,450 (249,000 USDT x 3.6725), before any bank charges. This is an indicative calculation, not a quote.
How do you check a bank's crypto terms before moving funds?
Checking a bank's crypto terms takes four steps, and each can be done from the bank's own pages and the regulator's register.
-
STEP 1
Find the licensed entity
The product page names it: Bitpanda, Aquanow or the bank itself. Note the exact legal name, since RAKBANK and the VARA register differ on Bitpanda's.
-
STEP 2
Look it up in the register
Search the VARA public register for the entity, the licence reference, the permitted activities and the investor types. The IWGT licence section shows how we publish ours for comparison.
-
STEP 3
Read the Key Fact Statement and Terms
Look for clauses on transfers in and out, minimum and maximum order sizes, and the full fee table.
-
STEP 4
Ask in writing
If a document does not say whether outside USDT is accepted, ask the bank and keep the answer. Do not send funds on an assumption.
The bottom line on bank app crypto vs an OTC desk
Bank app crypto trading in the UAE is a regulated way to buy and sell a short list of coins inside your bank. It is not, on its published terms, a way to cash out outside USDT. For that, with the size and timing in the section above, use a licensed desk and request a written quote.
FAQ
Can I deposit USDT from my own wallet into RAKBANK crypto trading?
As of October 2026, RAKBANK's product page does not say whether external crypto transfers are possible. It says no external transfers are needed to trade from a RAKBANK account. Read the Key Fact Statement and Terms and Conditions linked from the page before moving funds.
Can I withdraw crypto from Liv X to an outside wallet?
As of October 2026, Liv's support FAQ states that Liv does not support transfers of crypto holdings to or from Liv. Crypto bought in the app stays in the app and is sold back to your account.
Is bank in-app crypto regulated in the UAE?
The licensed party is named on each product page. RAKBANK names Bitpanda and Liv names Aquanow, both on the VARA public register as Broker-Dealers. Standard Chartered states its own VARA licence. Check the register entry yourself.
Which route suits 100,000 USDT or more?
A licensed OTC desk, because the bank products reviewed here either state no support for crypto transfers or do not say. A desk takes USDT from your wallet and pays AED by UAEFTS the same business day, or USD by SWIFT in 2 to 5 business days.
Cash out external USDT through a licensed desk
IWGT is a VARA-licensed Broker-Dealer in Dubai. All-in spread 0.08-0.40% by size, published openly. AED by UAEFTS the same business day once your account is approved.
SOURCES
- RAKBANK - Crypto Brokerage product page, accessed 23 October 2026.
- RAKBANK Islamic - Virtual Assets product page, accessed 23 October 2026.
- Liv - Crypto product page, accessed 23 October 2026.
- Liv - support FAQ (crypto), accessed 23 October 2026.
- Standard Chartered UAE - Crypto Trading page, accessed 23 October 2026.
- Standard Chartered - press release, 14 October 2026, accessed 23 October 2026.
- VARA public register (Bitpanda Broker MENA FZCO, Aquanow ME FZE, Standard Chartered Bank), accessed 23 October 2026.
- IWGT published pricing bands and onboarding requirements - this site, October 2026.
This guide is informational and is not legal, tax or investment advice, nor an invitation to buy or sell any virtual asset. Rules and figures are as of October 2026 - re-check the sources before acting. Virtual assets may lose their value in full or in part and are subject to extreme volatility.